get stuff done

The last week or so I slowly felt the joy of getting stuff done. This is the week before I take off for HK, and I made a deal with my boss to get enough work done so that I can be safely away from the team without jeopardizing the delivery of our software.

For the most part I think I was able to achieve that by finishing my tasks at hand. On the other hand, I felt that there’s always room for improvement in my work, that I could have improved here or there, be efficient at certain things, like making meeting more effective, and putting more time up front in the first place.

At the same time, I really felt lucky because I got my TA work sorted out before and during my week away. The staff around me has been very helpful, and I know I’m really borrowing future time in advance. When I come back, in which I call it the third phase, I’m going to have to repay those hours to other people.

Marking for 207, and some owed hours for ACW, and MT marking, are all going to fill my first week when I come back. I’m also going to have to get started on my thesis, and other work.

HK should be fun. I’m looking forward to seeing my hometown at this stage of my life, and seeing how I feel about it. I’m sure on the one hand it’s going to be an eye opener for me because 5 years ago there were a lot of things that I wouldn’t have think of, but now that I’m more free as a person, I’m going to be more open and less risk-aversive in trying new things in HK.

About dchana

all about connecting technology to everyday life and making things simple
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

